The City College of New York’s Department of Biomedical Engineering boasts an outstanding faculty, internationally recognized in their research fields and strongly committed to the department’s mission to improve health and train the next generation of leaders in medical research. Our commitment to excellence and equal opportunity in the field has led to a strong and diverse faculty consisting of over half women and underrepresented minority groups.

Among our faculty are members of the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering, and fellows of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineers. One faculty member, Sheldon Weinbaum, holds all three distinctions. All senior faculty are winners of the Lissner Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The department chair, John Tarbell, is a recent (2003) president of the national Biomedical Engineering Society.

The junior faculty have received substantial NSF career awards and research grants from NIH, NSF, DARPA, and other foundations. The majority of the junior faculty are female, three of which have active NIH and NSF funding totaling over $2.5 million.